Stained Glass of Buckinghamshire Churches

Assumption of the Virgin Mary, Moulsoe

C of E - Newport Deanery
Local Authority UA:
Milton Keynes UA
Address of Church:
Newport Road, Moulsoe (2 miles SE of Newport Pagnell)
Nearest Post Code:
MK16 0HQ
O/S Map Reference/NGR:
SP 90658 41748
Latitude & Longitude:
52.06669, -0.67888  Google Map
Church Web Site:
CofE ACNY Web Site:
Other Web Site Links:

Notes on Church:
Parts of Moulsoe church date from the 13th and 14th Centuries, particulalry the Nave Arcades. The tower and some unusual Decorated style windows date from the 14th century. In 1861 the Chancel was rebuilt by the architect William Burges, who was doing other work for the 2nd Baron Carrington at the time. As Lords of the Manor, the Carringtons were Patrons of Moulsoe church. The church has many monuments to members of the Carrington family, and they have an unusual and solid enclosure in the churhyard, which was also built by William Burges, around 1870.

Introduction to Stained Glass:The church has 3 stained glass windows by the makers Burlison and Grylls. For some unknown reason, the East window only has stained glass in the tracery part, which is in the form of a rose window. It is set in very heavy plate tracery stonework of the 1860s by William Burges. More...
There is also a very small fragment of orange stained glass in the tracery of the West window, which has not been included on this website.


Click to enlarge Plan

(Links may not work on some mobile devices)


Click on a thumbnail to go to a page for each window

Thumbnail Code   Location Type Subject(s) Date Craftsmen
Details 01 East Tracery above 3 lights Lamb with banner of glory, Agnus Dei, surrounded by 5 angels 1895 Burlison & Grylls
Details 02 Chancel S 2 lights Christ in Glory, World, Sun, Moon, Stars, St Lucy 1895 Burlison & Grylls
Details 03 S aisle E 4 lights St Anne teaching St Mary, Annunciation, Nativity, Death of Virgin Mary 1895 Burlison & Grylls

Stained Glass of Buckinghamshire Churches

©2003-2013 Clifford and Monica Robinson

©2015-2024 Michael G Hardy